• LCSS Media Reports

Summertown Elementary Advances to Interview for STEM Designation

Earlier this year, Summertown Elementary applied for the prestigious title of STEM Designation. To date, Summertown has had schoolwide success with multiple STEM programs. Ms. Amy Burleson and Mr. Brent Blackwood currently run a Compost program in partnership with the TN Department of Environment and Conservation. Ms. Ashley Bush and her UDL class sponsor the school Greenhouse. SES has multiple teachers running STEM camps afterschool. All faculty members ran STEM related clubs last year, as well aa FIRST Lego League Robotics Program. Ms. Wanda Konig sponsors the FIRST Explorer Championship. Ms. Courtney Dillard sponsored last years “STEM & Suess Night” and is currently the schools STEM Lead. If these amazing activities were not enough, Art Teach Ms. Nickie Bergan and Librarian Katherine Burleson intertwine STEM and STEAM into their daily classes. The schools RTI Coordinator, Ms. Tina Brown, has brought a plethora of community speakers and family activities to all grade levels through Summertown Elementary, as well. As Principal Ricky Mabry Jr. unfolds his vision for SES, students have shown growth and become prepared for the future workforce.

During mid March, SES had received notice that their STEM Designation Application Portfolio was advanced to the Interview Process on April 9th. The STEM Designation Team, Community Partners, former students, and parents assembled last Friday (April 9th) to speak on behalf of Summertown Elementary during the Interview with Tennessee STEM Innovation Network. We wish Summertown Elementary good luck, and be on the look out as the TN Department of Education will announce 2020-2021 STEM Designation School in late May.

Great Job, SES!

A Special Thanks to:

SES Community Partners:

Barry Bryan of DRM

Lee Boyd of Lawrenceburg Utility System

SES Parent:

Jennifer Pigg

SES STEM Designation Team:

Annemarie Lampright - CTE STEM Coordinator

Dr. Haley Hallmark - SES Assistant Principal

Courtney Dillard - SES STEM Lead

Brooklynn Malugin - SES Pre K

Myleah Luffman - SES Kindergarten

Allaina Essary - SES 1st Grade

Loreita Churchwell - SES 2nd Grade

Alicia Parrott - SES 3rd Grade

Gina Butler - SES 4th Grade

Elizabeth McDonald - SES 5th Grade

Wanda Konig - SES 6th Grade

108 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All